Steering Committee

To ensure that we consistently address a wide spectrum of education-related questions, we turn to our multipartisan Steering Committee. The committee works regularly with Consortium staff to develop a research agenda and review research in progress. Institutional members of our Steering Committee represent the Illinois State Board of Education; the Chicago Public Schools; and the city's Board of Education, Teachers Union, and Principals and Administrators Association. Individual members include civic leaders; education researchers; and members of education-reform, advocacy, and service organizations.

Raquel Farmer-Hinton, Co-chair
University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Dennis Lacewell, Co-chair
Urban Prep Charter Academy for Young Men

Institutional Members

Sarah Dickson
Chicago Public Schools

Elizabeth Kirby
Chicago Public Schools

Troy LaRaviere
Chicago Principals and Administrators Association

Karen Lewis
Chicago Teachers Union

Alan Mather
Chicago Public Schools

Tony Smith
Illinois State Board of Education

Individual Members

Gina Caneva
Lindbloom Math & Science

Nancy Chavez

Katie Hill
Office of the Cook County State's Attorney

Megan Hougard
Chicago Public Schools

Greg Jones
Kenwood Academy

Pranav Kothari
Revolution Impact, LLC

Lila Leff
Umoja Student Development Corporation & Emerson Collective

Rito Martinez
Surge Institute

Luisiana Meléndez
Erikson Institute

Shazia Miller
NORC at the University of Chicago

Cristina Pacione-Zayas
Erikson Institute

Beatriz Ponce de León
Generation All

Paige Ponder
One Million Degrees

Kathleen St. Louis Caliento
The Academy Group

Amy Treadwell
Chicago New Teacher Center

Rebecca Vonderlack-Navarro
Latino Policy Forum

Pam Witmer
Illinois Network of Charter Schools

John Zeigler
DePaul University

Ex-Officio Members

Sara Ray Stoelinga
Urban Education Institute